RSS Feed

French Toast Goes Cop: Bread Pudding Five-O.

Posted on

I think this might have been a huge mistake. 

You have to understand how this could happen, though.  You’ve been victim to the same irresistible impulse I caved in to yesterday at the grocery store, haven’t you? 

These:

Suckers.

They’re a fall thing, and someone always gets them once or twice for our football tailgates.

This year so far, we’ve gone without.  (I know, right???)

But we were out of town for the season opener and the first game we went to was a night game, so breakfast wasn’t in the plans.

Then Steve & Candace were in charge of donuts for the next game or two and they bought full size ones.  While those were good donuts, they’re not the same.

Then we skipped Purdue last week.

So my purchase yesterday was just a matter of fate.  It was a done deal before I even got to the store.  I was magnetically drawn to them in their cute little end-aisle display against my will.

Aren’t they stupid? 

I mean, I passed by an entire fresh bakery section full of lovely frosted goodies, pumpkin cake rolls, lemon poppyseed muffins, Italian crème cakes, giant chewy chocolate chip cookies, and big cinnamon cider donuts.  The bakery section didn’t even phase me.  But I was powerless against these dumb little powdered donuts. 

Makes no sense. 

Oh well.  It is what it is.

And today I woke up with this brilliant idea:

Coffee & donuts bread budding. 

French toast goes Cop. 

Bread Pudding Five-O.  I’m sorry but I can’t stop laughing at the stereotype.  It’s okay though because I love Cops!  Really, I’m real-life friends with a few good cops and they are some pretty cool women.  Tough, gorgeous, funny, talented, passionate, educated beyond belief – and even though one of them isn’t on the road anymore, I’d bet my socks she and the others are susceptible to the power of coffee & donuts.  Especially when turned into this mess.

I can’t take all the blame here.  Food bloggers, as a class, are just kind of bad people.  They do $#!* like this and then get me thinking about their crazy concoctions late at night.  And I hate to admit it but this was really delicious.  Go figure.    Don’t make it.  You’ll totally regret it. 

Coffee & Donuts Bread Pudding

Makes 4 servings. 

 16 mini donuts, broken in half & dried out a little (10 minutes in a warm oven then let sit to cool or set out overnight on the counter – good luck with that).  Arrange in a small ungreased baking dish.

3 eggs – beaten

1/2 cup milk

1/8 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp coffee extract

dasha’salt

Whisk the eggs, salt & other liquids until combined and pour over the donuts, making sure all pieces are covered.  Sprinkle cinnamon on top.

Bake at 350 for 25 minutes.  Let cool for 5-10 minutes, cut into quarters & serve with a dollop of whipped cream or Cool Whip and a drizzle of maple syrup. 

And coffee on the side, of course. 

This is a deceivingly small baking dish, like maybe 6” x 8”.  I wouldn’t use anything larger, but if you do, I’d scale up the quantities.

About kozubalk

Lawyer by day, baker by night, full time creative spirit.

One response »

  1. The only thing that could make this better (for me personally) would be to use Busch’s pumpkin donuts! They only come out in the fall, and they are amazing!!! Good job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

