RSS Feed

Apple Pie Cupcakes & Brown Sugar Buttercream

Posted on

As I mentioned, these sweet things are for D’s 5th birthday.  I can’t wait to show you the full display, but I don’t want to ruin the surprise for the party tonight. 

This apple pie cupcake was a little bit of an experiment.  I didn’t technically use a straight recipe.  I used this banana cupcake recipe from the unbelievably beautiful and hilarious Jessica, my favorite blogging mentor (unbeknownst to Jessica) , and substituted my homemade apple pie filling for the bananas.  I did adjust the apple pie filling by reducing the cider to 1/2 cup and the sugar to 1/4 cup, although next time I would eliminate the sugar altogether. 

I did some major research before going to work on these.  Here’s how it went:

Me to Rick (my own personal math & physics Wikiperson), “what do you estimate the volume of one banana to be?”

Rick to me, “I don’t freaking know, why?” 

End of research.

I used one cup of apple pie filling and I think it was just about right.  Next time I may reserve some apple pie filling to fill the cupcakes with, though, just because it’s that good. 

I topped them with a super buttery brown sugar frosting that I totally made up and didn’t write down because it was kind of a little bit of a fail.  This one is the best, though:

Brown Sugar Buttercream

In a saucepan, bring to a boil 1 cup brown sugar, 3 tablespooons butter and 3 tablespoons water.  Sit to cool slightly.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat 3 sticks of cool softened butter (take out of the fridge about 20 minutes before using) for about 2 minutes until light & fluffy.

With the mixer running, pour in the brown sugar syrup & blend until fully combined.

Add 3 cups powdered sugar 1 cup at a time and 1/2 cup all purpose FLOUR (yes, raw white flour, I know, don’t worry about it) until  each addition is fully incorported.  If it’s a tad stiff, add 1 tablespoon of milk, fully blending, and up to 3 more tablespoons at a time.  Then add 1 tsp vanilla and a dash of salt & beat for 4-5 minutes until fluffy.  

This is divine…  Make these while apples are still in season!

About kozubalk

Lawyer by day, baker by night, full time creative spirit.

Leave a Reply

