RSS Feed

Frosting & popcorn

Sometimes I have frosting for dinner.

Just frosting.

Maybe with a glass of milk.

Sometimes I overdo it.  What can I say, my intentions are good, I’m just overly diligent in my taste-testing and when I like something I make, I indulge. 

It’s an accident.  Or, more like an occupational (hobbyational?) hazard.  I mean, don’t you think it’d be irresponsible of me to put gross-tasting frosting on a batch of cupcakes I’m making for someone else?  It is necessary to taste-test my product. 

Last Friday was one of those accidental over indulgences.  I made this simple peanut butter frosting for my Aunt’s banana cupcakes.  I wanted it to be light-ish, not too buttery, not too sweet, and very peanut-buttery. 

Would you believe I measured stuff and wrote. it. down.???  I did.  😀 

Perfect Peanut Butter Frosting.

1 stick of room temperature butter creamed in mixing bowl on medium for about 2 minutes, until light & fluffy;

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter (I used Jif) creamed into the butter for one minute or so;

2 cups powdered sugar (I did NOT bother sifting – tsk, tsk – I know) added to the butter mixture 1 cup at a time;

2-3 Tablespoons milk added right after the last installment of sugar, on low speed until no longer splashy, then mixed on medium for about 3 minutes;

Dash of salt added at the end (or two dashes if you use unsalted butter). 

AND I should have added some vanilla, but don’t think I did.  Next time I will.  About a teaspoon. 

Drizzled with chocolate ganache, just because.  (1/4 cup or so Nestles semi-sweet chocolate chips + tablespoon milk, slowly melted in microwave & wisked til shiny & smooth).

SO, because I had frosting for dinner (WAY too much of it, too, with chocolate ganache on the side) and still had to feed the husband (who ALSO ate way too much frosting & ganache but was still hungry), I made this lovely creation:

 

Inspired by several Greek colleagues, I added some dried oregano, coarse black pepper and garlic powder to the butter I melted in the microwave whilst popping the popcorn (on the stove in Omega-3 vegetable oil in a giant pot – not air-popped).  I poured on the savory butter then sprinkled on some giant parmesan cheese flakes and a little salt.  Mmmm…. this was spectacular. 

The accompanying cocktail (Bacardi white rum, lime & tonic with fresh mint) was serendipitous. 

So, frosting for dinner, popcorn & rum for dessert.  Balanced meal, maybe not, but it was certainly a fun Friday!

About kozubalk

Lawyer by day, baker by night, full time creative spirit.

Leave a Reply

